Local Government Commission

of the  

Pennsylvania General Assembly

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION is a bicameral, bipartisan legislative service agency of the Pennsylvania General Assembly. Created in 1935 by an Act of Assembly, it is one of the oldest agencies of its kind in the country. Five Senate Members and five House Members, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively, constitute the Commission.

The Commission affords research assistance to the Members of the General Assembly and their constituents on local government issues. It regularly provides a forum for statewide municipal associations, representing different types of municipalities and officials, to express their views directly before legislators from both caucuses in the Senate and House. The Commission works with these and other stakeholders in proposing legislation for the betterment of Pennsylvania local government.


January 24, 2018
Local Government Commission Business Meeting
(8:45 a.m. Room 14 East Wing-Main Capitol Building)


February 8, 2018
LGC Assessment Task Force Meeting
(1:00 p.m. Room 461 Main Capitol Building)